top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHolly Klaus

2019 Reflection: Planting the Seeds

To say that 2019 was the most challenging year of my life would be an understatement. Between my husband’s cancer diagnosis, lots of uncertainty about our future, some other health complications, and living out of boxes for over half a year after selling our first home, the year was pretty hard. Life was overwhelming, disorganized chaos for much of the year as my husband and I were so busy with renovating our second home, moving, and vegan meal prep (as Jake started his new health regimen to fight his cancer). As I am someone who definitely needs some personal time and space to unwind and get creative for my own mental health and sanity, this time shortage was quite difficult for me. Pair those challenges with the typical adjustment period to the major changes of life after college, and it seemed like way too much to handle all at once.


Despite how difficult the year was, I had a lot of blessings along the way, and these things helped me survive through the worst things. I have always had a great support system from my family and friends, and I have an amazingly determined husband, unwilling to let any obstacle get the better of him. And very importantly, I began to fuel a passion I have always had in a sustainable way; I found immense release in my creative business, Sun Sprinkles.


I have such vivid dreams for Sun Sprinkles in 2020 and beyond. Dreams of an art studio with a vast workspace and inspirations hanging from every wall. Visions of making people smile, one pair of funky earrings at a time. Ideas about hosting special events, workshops, and pop-up shops. A yearning for seeing my products displayed in lovely little shops and boutiques across the country. The hope of someday reaching these dreams keeps me shooting for my own little star.


My artistic style often focuses on the colorful, the whimsical, the upbeat, and the funky. Though I wasn’t all that satisfied with life this year, focusing on pieces that were fun and imaginative actually helped me to manifest more happy times and break up the frustration with calming flow time.


For the vast majority of this year, my “studio” was a foldout card table stacked sky high with materials, looking like a tornado struck & constantly running out of working space. I started Sun Sprinkles out of virtually nothing- a $20 pack of clay and some old art tools I had had since junior high. It was hard to start because I was so nervous I wouldn’t sell anything. I am not someone to wear my heart on my sleeve, and starting something I was so passionate about in such a public way made me feel so anxious and exposed. Beginnings are hard- but worth it.


This year marks the origin of Sun Sprinkles. It marks working my way through rock bottom, and gradually climbing my way back out. It marks the year I wouldn’t take ordinary or expected for an answer, and began to pave my own way, no matter how small. 2019 was the year I reached twenty-two retail locations selling my goods, and hundreds of sales online and in person. Sun Sprinkles is no doubt small- but these accomplishments helped me keep on keepin’ on.


Despite how immensely challenging this year was, I made it through. I am proud of myself for choosing to do the hard but right things to eventually get out of the hard times. To plant seeds for later, rather than focus on the now.


2019 was the year of digging seeds into the dirt, to hopefully grow a garden.

Here’s to a fruitful 2020.


Holly


437 views0 comments
bottom of page